Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People argue regarding having a control over the subjects that the college pupils should study. I disagree with this idea. Students should have their own say for what they want to learn. This essay will discuss the positive effects of giving leverage to choose the subjects and also discuss the impact of restricting the choice of subjects.

Today there are more number of fields to choose from then earlier. In today’s world people have freedom to select the areas they would like themselves to pursue as a profession. It may not be related to science and technology but can be teaching, creative designing, and many more. It is proved by researchers ; students are likely to score good marks in the subjects they like . Hence , it impacts on the overall result. If a pupil has a chance to choose the subjects, they give their best performance as it’s their interest area. Furthermore they can turn this into their profession which can indeed yield them good revenue. For instance, Iris Scott a renowned artist who is famous artist who draws by finger ; by profession she was a software engineer , but she disliked the engineering job so she wasn’t able to meet the deadlines when needed. She was passionate of her drawing skills and one fine day she changed her profession to becoming an artist and today her paintings are sold in dollars. Hence Its better to give the right to choose the subjects.

On the other hand when a student is restricted to learn the subjects that they like , they may not fare well. It would be a monotonous learning that can lead to a boring and unhappy life. Moreover , lets say if a person wanted to do modeling but had to select science and become a doctor, when that person starts practicing may end up doing a big goof up which may endanger someone’s life.

So it would be a wise decision to allow students to pick up subjects they like to master. I personally believe it will have a positive impact too.