Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.Discuss both these views a

With all the changes occurring in the world today, an important question is whether students should have a freedom of choice when ti comes to study subjects, or they should be directed to more practically oriented disciplines, especially science or technology.

Relative freedom of choice in the academy is what we currently have in most of the world. In my country, students are only limited by their previous academic results when choosing what to study. Although social and natural sciences are pretty much equally popular in Serbia, in my opinion, opportunities they provide are vastly different. An average graduate from a science and technology faculty can expect to acquire higher-paying job and a more rewarding career than their counterparts from social science departments.

Knowing this, it is not too difficult to understand why many people argue in favor of STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) programs. The importance of engineering, medicine or biology in the modern world is another good argument in favor of educating more students of this profile. Allocating less government-funded study places to programs that are considered to be less-needed, like maybe sociology or economics, and funding education of more engineers is a good way to balance out supply and demand in the labor market, and facilitate economic growth. This approach could work in a country like Serbia, where university education is predominantly state-owned, and companies are struggling to find qualified workers with STEM background.

However, completely abolishing certain study programs is, in my opinion, an extreme approach. Many students have a natural inclination towards humanities, and they should be enabled to study what they care about. Furthermore, treating social sciences as inferior and neglecting them can be a dangerous way forward for a society, because humanities provide a critical analysis of a broader context of our way of life.

In conclusion, although I tend to think that schooling more STEM students can be beneficial for a developing nation, in the long run, humanities are equally needed for a stabile society. Furthermore, I find that even considering any sort of ban on certain subjects is completely unacceptable.