One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Big breakthroughs in the field of medicine accompanied with better and more widely-available healthcare have brought a significant increase in the life expectancy globally. In my opinion, this represents a positive change, although various challenges have emerged along the way.

Reading through the historical records from just one century ago, it becomes easy to appreciate all the wonders of the modern medicine even more. People used to live in grimy conditions, and were dying from the diseases we can now cure with the single dose of antibiotics. Children mortality rates were astronomical, and reaching adulthood was not that common, yet nowadays we take it for granted. If people were strong enough to survive young-age illnesses, life-span was rather short, and being 60 was regarded as very old. The poorest people were the ones to suffer the most due to various diseases and premature death.

Today, however, thanks to all the progress in science and improved living conditions, the most developed nations are at the forefront of the completely new social crisis. The elderly are making up to one quarter of the total population in countries like Japan or Germany already, and this trend is showing no signs of slowing down. For the economy, this means more social expenditures and less tax revenues due to the decline in the working-age population. Faced with this challenge, policymakers are struggling to find a way to keep the current healthcare system operating, without destroying prospects for the future economic growth. In addition, providing pensions for the increasing number of retirees will be no less difficult.

In conclusion, I want to restate my position that the rising life expectancy should be regarded as a positive development. I believe that solutions will be provided for the challenges that follow this change, and that the future generations will be able to enjoy lives in the way we now cannot even imagine.