Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Globalization is enabling us to purchase identical goods all around the globe. This development can be perceived as beneficial for consumers, however it undoubtedly diminishes cultural diversity and impacts local ways of live.

Iconic brands, like Coca Cola or McDonalds, are omnipresent, and it is hard to deny that their products please the tastes of consumers everywhere they appear. This ability to meet the needs of the consumers is what turns some companies into multinational giants, and enables them to expand globally. Besides satisfying consumer needs, large corporations can usually do it with a lower costs compared to their local counterparts. Economy of scale is on their side, and they can transfer some of these benefits to consumers, through lower prices. As a result, relative abundance of goods, and easy access to vide range of services is no longer the privilege of rich nations only.

However, by adopting similar habits, people from various nations are living more alike. Western lifestyle is spreading with the expansion of western corporations into new markets. The whole world is becoming increasingly westernized, and local cultures, with their customs, beliefs and traditions, are sliding into oblivion.

Furthermore, we are not just consumer, but producers as well, and what is consumed affects what, and how we produce. In this context, globalization unavoidably leads to eradication of some local business and, with them, many jobs and a part of a local cultural heritage disappear as well.

Another issue is the growing power of the multinationals. Their influence can sometimes exceed that of the national governments. This have been the case in the developing nations for a long time. However, with the rise of globalization, big business have managed to gain more power even in the most developed countries.

In conclusion, my opinion is that global expansion of trade and commerce should be perceived as a positive force. Still, critiques of globalization should not be disregarded as a populist and nativist gibberish. Many people are suffering negative effects of this process, and their voices must be heard in order to prosper further, without jeopardizing our identities.