Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

While many museums sell tickets in order to generate revenue, others offer their collections to public free of charge. In my opinion, although these institutions can benefit from money they acquire through ticket sales, the public interest is served considerably better if admission is free.

Firstly, I will briefly consider the purpose museums have in a society. These institutions exhibit works of art, as well as various historical artefacts. Thus, they act as the guardians of the cultural heritage of a society. Depriving people of their history and culture can be detrimental to their understanding of the world they live in. However, costly tickets can deter many less-affluent people from visiting museums.

Nevertheless, museums would always welcome some extra funding. In the majority of countries, museums are publicly-funded, however selling reasonably-priced tickets is not prohibited. This additional money can be directed to different useful projects, like improving storage facilities or expanding existing collection. In addition, with extra funds, museums could participate in field explorations of historical sites, or purchase private collections, deemed to be of high public value.

However, exclusion is the biggest issue that occurs if the charging system is implemented. Besides making it more difficult for people to enrich themselves culturally, expensive tickets can create negative attitudes in public towards museums, and what they represent. If the common people start perceiving them as elitist hubs, not only that they will not frequent them, but they will also pass these negative stances to their children.

In conclusion, I believe that the large portion of the history and art belongs to a common cultural heritage, and therefore should be universally available and free. Private collections and exhibitions should exist to cater for needs of those audiences that have more sophisticated tastes, or are more intellectually inclined.