In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.To what extent do you agree or disagree

Obesity, diabetes, and hart diseases are just some of the conditions that can be linked to the consumption of unhealthy food. The solution some propose is taxing these types of food, and therefore steering people away from it. I do not think that this measure would be particularly effective, and in this essay I will explain my position.

Firstly, when discussing this issue, it is crucial to take in consideration other possible factors besides fast food, which have a negative health effects. A sedentary lifestyle is dominant in the nations that are struck the most with illnesses related to weigh issues. This way of life includes insufficient physical activity, increasing risk of health problems even with the well-balanced diet. Although it may seem like the fast food tax could mitigate health problems in such nations, this measure would not address the core reason why vast numbers of people knowingly deteriorate their health by consuming unhealthy food.

This leads to socio-economic aspects of junk food consumption. Statistics show that lower-income people are disproportionately more likely to suffer from obesity and related diseases than their wealthier counterparts. The simple reason behind this are relatively low prices of unhealthy food items. Carbonated sugary drinks and sweets are among the cheapest foods available, and eating at McDonalds is far less expensive than treating yourself with a lunch at a sushi restaurant. The cost of eating healthy is too high for many families, even if they have the time to cook their own meals. Unlike food items rich in carbohydrates or fats, healthy options like raw fruit and vegetables, or grass-feed meat animal products, are rather costly. Therefore, taxing junk food would in reality be a tax on the poor.

In conclusion, I would like to add that taxing just certain food products, like sodas for example, could be beneficial, because these are not staple items. However, taxing fast food comprehensively would harm many struggling families, who are resorting to this diet not because they are irresponsible, but because they cannot afford anything better.