Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.
Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.
Discuss both views and give your opinion.
Crime is a serious and growing problem in most societies. Although many people believe
that the best way to tackle this is to place people in prison for longer periods, others are of
the opinion that other measures will be more effective.
There are benefits of giving offenders longer prison sentences. Firstly, spending a long time
in prison provides an opportunity for the prison services to rehabilitate a prisoner. For
example, someone who has committed a serious offence such as assault will need a long
time in prison in order to be sure they can be re-educated not to re-offend. In addition to
this, longer prison sentences will act as a deterrent for someone who is thinking of
committing a crime.
However, some people argue that leaving people in prison for a long time means that they
will mix with other criminals and so their character will not improve. One alternative is
community service. This gives an offender the opportunity to give something positive back
to society, and so it may improve their character. Also, the government could focus its
resources on the causes of crime, which would lead to less crime in the future.
In my opinion, it is important to look at alternative methods. Many countries have lengthy
prison sentences, but crime has continued to increase throughout the world, so it is clear
that this is not completely effective. That said, long prison sentences should remain for
those who commit serious crimes such as assault or murder, as justice for the victim and
their family should take priority.
To conclude, there are good arguments for and against long sentences, so governments
must continue to research the various methods of crime reduction to ensure effective
policies are in place.