Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since bygone era, consuming local food items and limiting the use of imported food items has always been a matter of debate. In my opinion, we live in the world of globalization, where people should not limit their usage to local items. It makes no sense to restrict import on foodstuffs and compel people to rely on whatever grows in the country.

The foremost reason I believe for allowing the import is to help the country’s population with the varieties across the world. Unequivocally, every fruit cannot be reaped in one’s country, resulting in need to import the item from other part where it grows. In this case, it would be sheer ignorance to ban the product coming in the country. For instance, a kiwi fruit is well-known for its nutritional values to stabilize the white blood cell count and is highly recommended by medical experts during dengue fever. Although it is not grown in India, it does not mean that fruit is ignored by Indians because it is not local.

Secondly, it would be narrow-mindedness if the import of edibles gets restricted then it freezes the door to learn lifestyle, culture and tradition outside the country. Undeniably, many people find pleasure sharing their cuisines with friends and relatives abroad. In such circumstances, it is not amiable gesture to stick to just local eatables. An Italian pizza is the best example, where people have known Italy by overwhelmingly embracing the pizza and its ingredients from Italy. It is no doubt that people outside Italy started knowing about the country of Pope through delicious pizza.

Although some people argue saying that allowing the foreign fruits and vegetables in the country ruins the agricultural practices in the country as for them people would not buy the local items. However, the reason for sales is always the quality which the consumer thinks before purchasing. Definitely, in such scenario to compete in market, the commodity would be improved to sustain in market, which is again beneficial to the citizens.

To sum up, I pen down saying that import of any food commodity should be liberal because it is helpful for the country’s people. As a result of importing, they have an opportunity to taste and enjoy the nutritional benefits of foreign food products along with embracing their culture and tradition.