Some people think a crime should always have

a fixed punishment, like life for murder,

whereas others think you should take the

circumstances of the crime into account. What

is your viewpoint

It is irrefutable that crime level has elevated drastically these days, therefore, it is widely agreed that the best solutions to address such a serious issue by offering a fixed punishment for each type of crime. However, it is argued that the reasons behind any crime should be considered, thus, punishment should be more flexible. This essay aims to examine both views before coming to a conclusion.

It is generally believed that fixed punishment plays a crucial role in alleviating crime level globally. First of all, criminals who are intending to commit a certain crime for any reason will change their mind if they know the subsequent actions against them afterwards. For example, Saudi Arabia has a very low crime index among other advanced nations. Since, they impose and execute very tough punishments such as a death penalty for murders, and drugs smuggling, and life sentence for robberies. Therefore, crime rate is considered extremely low compared with other nations which have no fixed penalties.

On the flip side, it is often pointed out that there are several factors might stand behind any major crime and, therefore, it should be accounted during trials. Firstly, It is very important to investigate the motivations before applying penalties, to ensure a high level of justice. For instance, punishments such as death penalties, and life sentence for murders should be investigated in a high manner as many cases might be self-defense cases against robberies, murders or anyone who is trying to kill people. Secondly, with the aim of reducing the crime level, judges should investigate more about the motivations and reasons that participate in making crime, in order to find a good solutions to address them properly. For example, numerous crimes in several countries have attributed to the poverty, low level of education and other critical factors, so, tackle the core of problem will help to reduce crime.

To sum up, I am in a favor of having a flexible penalties as it provides a high level of justice for all people, since, some crimes might be considered as a self-defense, so that, it is injustice at all to be treated as murders.