Some people think that it is a good thing for senior management positions to have very high salaries compared to other workers of the same company or organization. To what extend do you agree?

In the present age, senior managers are paid very high salaries as compared to other workers of the same firm. Some people assert it as a good thing, While others argue it as an unfair practice. Personally I agree with the former view.

Increasing horizons of businesses due to globalization and technological advancement has led to immense work pressure on senior managers. It has been observed that senior managers are working late hours and even on weekends with no time for personal well being or family. Moreover, they bring years of knowledge and experience on the table when they take over senior positions. Thus, enabling them in taking decisions of paramount significance, which are essential for the growth and well-being of the firm. In addition, salaries are the only way to differentiate between employees at different levels.

Hence, they are paid handsome salaries as a token of appreciation for their dedication towards the company.

It is believed by some, that the amount paid to senior managers is not justified and is an unfair practice, as they do not contribute as much as other members of the organisation. They assign work to others and enjoy the luxury of taking credit for work done by them, as a result of which they get higher pay. Workers at lower level need to understand that prime duty of seniors is decision making and getting work done from others. According to me, this perspective is incorrect.

In my opinion, senior management positions deserve very high salaries as they have put in enormous hard-work in reaching the senior position and their work is very stressful.