Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Being surrounded by honest and reliable friends is one of the blessings of life. While it is commonly believed that having companions with a similar mindset is preferable, others argue that to have a network of friends who have different viewpoints is more beneficial. I am of the view that it is entirely dependent on the age group of the individuals rather generalization.

Generally speaking, youngsters tend to crave to have a variety of opinions of others, particularly friends, in their decision-making process. Considering the limited exposure and less experience of challenging situations in life, the young generation value those who not only challenge their decision but also share their sincere perspective on any particular matter. This immensely helps the person in taking the right course of action because there is a lot to learn from the experiences of close acquaintances. For instance, I really admire the advice of one of my best friends on opposing my decision to study engineering as he thought that accounting and finance would be the best choice from me because of my outstanding arithmetic skills.

However, aged individuals prefer to have a friend circle having the same point of view as them. As people grow older, their mindset becomes rigid and they consider themselves self-righteous. In other words, they reach a level of maturity where they detest a situation in which their viewpoint is challenged by their colleagues or acquaintances. Consequently, it is best suited for them to have a group of friends who have more in common and share similar interests in order to have a healthy relationship between them.

To conclude, friendship with like-minded or unlike-minded is entirely dependent on the age group. While mature people loath disagreements, youth admire those who disagree with them and provide a different perspective.