Some people think that newspapers are the best way to get news. However, others believe that they can get news better through other media platforms.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Methods to acquire news is a hotly-debated topic that often divides opinion. While some people consider newspapers as the most effective way of receiving tidings, I would argue that it is no longer the best way to get news because of the developing online tidings.

On the one hand, nowadays, newspapers still have a foothold in society. First of all, let’s take a look at the fact that many older people would rather buy a newspaper than buy a technological device to get news. One reason behind it is that they afraid of learning how to use those modern appliances. Furthermore, it would be great to have a coffee while reading a newspaper. Take my grandfather as a typical example. Although my father bought him a smartphone, he refused to use it and gave it to me. He prefers reading the newspaper. This leads to the majority of the older generation still having reading newspaper habits.

On the other hand, it goes without saying that we are living in a 4.0 era, so people like convenient ways to get information. The younger generation has become increasingly obsessed with social networking sites such as Facebook or Tiktok. Just a few clicks and they know all information about the world. According to a recent survey about newspaper reading in a university in Ho Chi Minh City, only 3% of students read newspapers but not often. No one reads newspapers every day. These are remarkable numbers. Another point worth noting is that the information is updated quickly on social media, so they don’t have to wait till morning to obtain the news. As a result, young people tend to choose the media platform to receive news due to convenience and quickness.

Taking everything into consideration, although I believe that printed newspapers are still popular among certain groups of people, I’m not at all convinced that it is the best way to get the news as more and more people get drawn into using the Internet.