Some people think that parents should limit the hours their children spend watching TV and playing computer games and encourage them to read books instead. Do you agree or disagree?

As technology has started to play a more centralized role in our lives, parenting is no exception to this scenario. While some parents might succumb their offspring to increased screen time, others cajole their children to restrict their digital activities and read books. This essay agrees that the latter approach is more conducive for young minds as it would make them intelligent and job-ready in the long run.

The most persuasive reason for encouraging children to read books is the amelioration of their intelligent quotient.

Apparently, no television program or video game can spur creativity like a book do. While reading children would get lost in the world of imagination and creativity. This cerebral activity aids in the development of new and strong neural networks resulting into think critically and expeditiously. On the other hand, sitting ideally in front of a screen may result in digital dementia. To cite an example, Elon Musk, Steve Jobs, Benjamin Franklin and many other pioneers were avid readers. Thus, if parents encourage their children to be friends with books instead of the digital world, their intelligence will get greatly enhanced.

Another far reaching benefit children can procure from books is the treasure of vocabulary which is indispensable when transitioning into the professional world. Without a doubt, even though one has great knowledge, inferior interpersonal skills are going to hinder their chances of advances or even hiring. By reading books children get exposed to academic vocabulary and improving their communication skills that will make them job ready for the coveted roles. Abraham Lincoln, for instance, once quoted “It’s not the skills that matters, it’s the words that matters”. Parents should incite offspring to spend time with books instead of video games.

To conclude, whereas playing games on consoles brings about digital dementia, the stimulating and rewarding benefits of reading books, on the other hand, makes it crystal clear why this essay agrees to complement parenting with reading.