Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society.

Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that school is responsible to teach young people how to be valuable members of society. While there are some good arguments in favour of this, I think the family has much more important role to learn this.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why school is a proper place to train social skills to children. Unlike first impressions, the training of children is not easy and needs an academic background. As a result, the teachers who graduated from colleges or universities and so are more familiar with up-to-dated methods of teaching social values should train students. Learning social skills needs also specific educational space and facilities. For example, elementary schools of the UK must arrange a police station tour for seven-years-old children with the aim of teaching traffic rules.

On the other hand, I believe that parents have more responsibilities in teaching social values to their children. The first reason is that parents have a great influence on their children and are always the most important model of behavior for them. In other words, in my personal perspective, the parent is the best teacher for kids and home is the best place to learn and practice social tasks. Secondly, since most children's free time is spent at home, parents must give an environment in which children get more involved with social tasks. Recent studies showed that children get familiar with half of the main principles of social behavior in the home through educational programs of media.

In conclusion, although parent and school alike should take responsibility to teach social behavior principles to young people, in my opinion, the family is a more proper place to learn this.