Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, carbon footprint and Traffic jam have become significant issues among countries; Governments ought to impose laws to reduce these problems. I believe that increasing the price and tax of Fuel has negatives outnumber positives. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages will be discussed before concluding.

One main positive consequence of the increasing of tax is that people maybe reduce the using of their private cars; they would like to safe their funds. In addition to that, some people will start to use public transportation such as Buses and Metros which will help to reduce pollution and traffic impact. Moreover, at least they are going to limit travelling a long distance by using their cars. A prime example of that when Saudi Arabia put more tax on petrol, congestion decrease by 70% in the big towns. Hence, increasing the price of gasoline may help to solve the problem of carbon gas emissions and traffic problem.

Despite this, there are more negatives as well. Firstly, if the authorities increase the tax on petrol, this will harm social-economic. In other words, the prices of goods and essential items will be increased; the transportation of those items will be higher. Furthermore, the cost of transportation will be high which will affect poor people. It can be witnessed in Egypt where decision-makers have imposed laws for increasing fuel price, the price of food items has been increased accordingly. Thus, increasing tax of petrol products is not the solution to pollution and traffic; it has a detrimental effect on people's lives.

It can be concluded that put more tax on petrol is not a sufficient solution for some circumstance such as congestion and reduce the greenhouse gases, and it has demerits outweigh merits. It is recommended that governments should search for another solution to tackle these issues, for example, encouraging the use of public transportation, and make it more comfortable.