Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While a group of people asserts that studying history is a futile and sheer wastage of time, another group of people opines that it is very important in our life. This essay, however, discusses both viewpoints before reaching a conclusion.

On the one hand, advocates of history believe that history, as a subject, has greater impacts on human life as it helps to know the culture and tradition of a country evolved gradually. In detail, from history, one might come to know how their forefathers lived and what all paths they have gone through to build up a world that is seen today. Moreover, learning the past seems to help the present generation to encounter many situations like natural disasters. Eradication of many communicable diseases is a testimony for this, where scientists may refer to many previous theses and research articles for their respective studies. Hence, it is clear that learning history could make some possible outcomes for humans.

On the other hand, many are of the view that learning history is worthless. This view purely borns out of practical thinking. If the present job market is taken into account, the percentage of careers related to history subject is substantially less. Many firms are in search of job aspirants who have a background in scientific subjects. In addition to this, it is said that history is a boring subject, while they need to memorise a countless number of dates which they think it is irrelevant in this modern world.

After examining both sides, it is felt that though studying history has less career value, it is important for mankind to understand their past for moulding a better present and future. Hence, I am of the opinion that studying the past is not all wastage of time.