Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History, at its simplest, is the study of past events. It is an account of the nation’s period of glory and struggle. Some people believe that studying history is not at all consequential while others have a judgement that it is essential to have cognizance about history. But is studying past subsidiary or is it just a waste of time? This will be discussed further in this essay

History, a subject is extraneous in edifying institutions because students are required to memorize dates, names and facts that are nugatory in everyday life. Erudition of the history is not even consequential because each historical event is perceived differently by different people. “We learn from history that we learn nothing from history”, many people believe in this verbalization because they have a perspective that history is a subject infrequently used in people's lives, on the contrary, one should fixate on advances in science and technology that are more pertinent to the future amendment of society.

On the other hand, History avails people to understand the culture and the evolution of the nation. It withal provides insight into what the great bellwethers have endured in the past to make the world what it is now. It is paramount to recollect these occurrences to commemorate the country's sacrifices. Additionally, learning history as well as erudition of the past is preparing for the future. It is simply serialized that those who have no understanding of history are doomed to reiterate this. For instance, when homogeneous past events are reported and analysed in detail, opportune measures can be taken to mitigate the effects of natural calamities such as floods.

To conclude, albeit many people believe that kenning history is nonessential, nevertheless, it is incontrovertible that the advantages of learning history outweigh the disadvantages. Studying history can not only deepen and broaden the erudition, but withal contribute to the development of analytical puissance.