Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

To some people, the idea of adulthood seems blissfully joyful. To others, however, adulthood life is nothing more than being snowed under responsibilities and commitments. While adolescence is, unquestionably, the most peaceful period of life, it seems to me that adulthood offers its unique way of happiness for which we should be grateful.

Adolescence appears to be the happiest period of life as adolescents don’t need to be concerned about the less-pleasant matters of life. Children’s innocent thoughts are not familiar with the ugly concepts of life such as loss, disease, and envy. While during childhood, parents take full responsibility for the child’s life, children tend to live in the moment, bear no grudge in heart and love any creature around them. Hence, it is no surprise that childhood is regarded as the most pleasant period in life. Yet, adulthood brings along its own unique perks.

Free will is one of the most tempting aspects of adulthood toward which human being has always gravitated. Extraordinary experiences and unjustifiable intuitive decisions come along with free will as adults are expected to look after themselves without the supervision of others. Ergo, adulthood is usually accompanied by a broad variety of new experiences, some of which are gold and some of which are not.

Financial independence is the most significant aspects of adulthood which brings along many pleasures. During childhood, any financial decision, even as small as buying a toy, should be made under parent’s authority and children, more often than not, have to fight for what they desperately want. Therefore, having a personal income is a unique circumstance for those who were used to fighting for their ambitions as no longer need they to ask others for fulfilling their dreams.

Although the peaceful moments of adolescence are undeniably precious, I sincerely believe that the leeway and financial independence are the two key factors that make adulthood a unique experience and, to some extent, even happier than the innocent childhood.