Some psychologists recommended that to overcome stress in daily life we should do nothing at all for a period of time in a day. Do you agree or disagree ?

In today's fast pacing world everybody is constantly moving, trying to accomplish one task after another or even multi-tasking. This constant working pattern results in more stress and anxiety for people. Some psychologists now suggest to devote some time in a day when you do absolutely nothing. While some people disagree to this suggestion as they believe they can never get things done this way. I strongly agree with this approach and I am explaining in this essay below why.

Firstly, When we are constantly working trying to achieve everything at a same time, it actually does overwhelm us and in turn makes us less productive than we actually are. Stopping for even couple of minutes between tasks helps clear our mind and reset our brain to focus clearly on next task. Moreover, We can get enhance benefits of this down time by having 'active rest' - which means doing either easy stretches or some meditation in between to calm our nerves before we pickup next daunting task. This especially is helpful for people who are constantly on move or in meetings throughout the day. Finally, research suggests taking 90/20 approach to work, which means take 20 minutes 'do nothing' break in between 90 minutes of work throughout the day. Now I personally tried this method and I see astounding results in my focus and stress is reduced dramatically.

Also, For some people who believe they can never get things done if they stop even for a while. But we need to take bigger picture here and also consider disadvantages that this approach presents. For example, For short term we may feel like we are achieving more tasks but in longer term this is actually contributing to more stress which we do take back home and it affects our personal life without realizing. Secondly, Working harder does not equals smarter. It creates more fatigue and results in less overall productiveness. We may blame it on ourselves and work even harder without seeing any improvement.

Finally, There are multiple studies conducted on tired brain and it clearly shows more we burn ourselves out, we see issues with brain functions such as, decreased hand eye coordination, poor motor skills and so on.

In order to improve overall mental health, we should focus on devoting some time in a day where we either do something we enjoy, clear our train of thoughts or simply do nothing. In longer term we will surely see stress reduction and improved focus which actually increases our productivity and helps us be more successful.