Some say that the government should stop supporting the professional sports activities and the cultural performances, and instead begin supporting schools to encourage children to take up sports and arts. What is your opinion?

sports and arts have become an indispensable part of human society, and have been considered as professional careers for centuries. while some believe it is unnecessary for the government to invest in those areas and focus on the rudimentary level of the relevant school activities, I would argue that it is vital to support both levels to attain such sustainable development.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why professional careers in sports and arts need attention and investments. First of all, it is a crucial form of entertainment for people, which gains huge attention from the masses. For example, in the states, the Super Bowl, a football event, has been probably one of the top rating programs ever. The concomitant profits from advertisements during the half-time on television are prodigious, and spectators also contribute to the aggregated number through the amount of ticket being sold. Besides, sports activities and cultural performances define the quintessential values of the countries. For example, in Vietnam, "Cai Luong", a traditional stage performance, requires the artist to perform with special techniques and has been considered as a national form of arts. If the government is ceased to support this type of traditional arts, it will gradually disappear and will be a tremendous loss in human society.

On the other hands, encouraging children's engagement in sports and arts at an early age offers numerous perks for the community. Firstly, science has proved the paramount role of doing sports and practicing arts of all kinds in children development. Not only do they help them to grow well-rounded, but also enable them to relax after long-hour of studying. Secondly, there are several types of intelligence ranging from maths languages, sports, and arts; and with the availabilities of respective electives, talents of all kinds would be able to cultivate and proliferate. schools thus play a pivotal role in career orientation for children to explore and experiment their competences in different fields.

In conclusion, while some people believe the government has squandered their tax money in supporting professional sports and arts, I tend to support the idea that both the professional and amateur level of those mentioned areas are equally essential and required sufficient investment.