Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Students, nowadays, choose to take one-year gap before taking admission to any university. However, there are predominantly two contrasting views where a section of points describes the benefits for high school graduates to take a year off before going to the colleges while other viewpoint emphasizes disadvantages. In my opinion, there is a mix bag of both boon and bane.

On the constructive part, twelfth grade pupils are blessed with numerous benefits because of the presence of worth mentioning. To begin with, many high school graduates wants to earn money and become self-dependent for their upcoming future to live happily in a college life. Due to this, they acquire small jobs like becoming a waiter, babysitting a child, and many more to earn a good amount of money that will cover their monthly expenses as well as sufficient bank account savings for their cost of living in a college life. For instance, young adults from middle-class families starts doing a part-time jobs to save money for their college admission fees or cost of living for hostels to manage their expenses during college life. This helps them to survive with better standards of living during their college time. Moreover, several number of high school students prepares for a toughest entrance university exams to get admission in top universities which has first-class facilities and would be beneficial for the brighter future for them. Furthermore, some of the twelfth grade students are travelling from towns to get settled in their careers. As a result, they first find part-time jobs for survival and afterwards, they start applying in colleges to become graduates and get a specialization in one field.

On the destructive part, high school graduates coming from small towns gets settled in their career a little late due to the lack of money and not able to complete their college degree soon. In addition, their social life gets disbalance due to the hard work and busy schedule in their lives. These are suitable reasons to justify the negative outcomes of taking a year gap in between completing school and starting college life of individuals.

To conclude, the advantages of taking a year off after finishing senior high school for students has outweigh the disadvantages. And, students should take a gap in their year for study or work to become financially independent which will only help them to survive in hard times in the future.