Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

In the past, many school students were involved in doing physical activities during their spare time. Nowadays, playing online games is becoming incredibly popular among young children. This essay will examine the causes of this problem and suggest ways that students can curb the amount that they spend on playing it.

Two main factors are behind the rise in playing computer games over physical activities. The first one is excessive usage of technology, which has meant spending more time on electronics. In order words, 20 years ago, teenagers used to spend their extra time on sports or reading books, now an average teenager spend more time on their devices than to connecting other people or to play any physical activity. This can lead to many health problems and difficulties in making friends outside your household. The second factor, linked to the first, is that parents have no time for their young ones. Since it is not uncommon for both parents to be working full time, it is also unsurprisingly to see teenagers being not monitored by them. Therefore, these teenagers take advantage of it and spend most time playing games rather than going out.

Tackling this issue involves compulsory sports hour in school or college and also for parents to start giving more time to their offspring. Australian schools, for instance, made it compulsory for all their schools to have at least 45 minute of sports subject. As a result, most Australians these days are into sports and Australia is known as sports capital. In addition, if raising campaigns and awareness among parents about side affects of spending too much time on computers could also push parents to monitor their young ones and push them more towards sports.

In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift public consequence, this problem will escalate. While school and colleges have an important role to play, parents too need to take responsibilities for their children habits in order to cut down time on playing electronic games.