Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

In the past, students participated in sports more than playing games on computer as compared to present. However, nowadays, children spend most of their time in front of computers rather than playing any physical game. This essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward several solutions for it.

Two major reasons are behind the declination in interest of wards towards sports and their inclination towards computer games. The first is the advent of technology which provides various types of games that can be played on computers. Moreover, the internet has added fuel to the fire by offering the children online games that are played on worldwide scale. As a result, they spend a lot of their time by sticking to the screen of the computer or any other electronic gadgets like phone, tablets, et cetera. For instance, a survey conducted by World Sports Organization yielded a result that number of children taking part in sports is being declining with a great pace because of their inclining interest towards new technology of games. Secondly, the parents' negligence is responsible for this transformation of their wards. Most of the parents spend a lot of time in their offices due to which they are unable to keep an eye on their wards’ activities. Thus, the new technology and negligence of parents is responsible for the transformation of mindset of children.

Tackling this issue involves certain steps that should be taken in order to shift the interest of children. Firstly, schools should allot a game period of about an hour on regular basis so that students can participate in some kind of physical activity. Moreover, seminars should be conducted by teachers in order to teach giving them about importance of outdoor games. Also, parents should have a regular check on the time spent by their wards in front of computers and other gadgets. Moreover, they should encourage them to take part in physical activities by playing outside along with them.

In conclusion, until efforts are made to shift the public consciousness, this problem will escalate. It is the responsibility of schools as well as parents to change the mindset of students and encourage them towards sports.