Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce crime rate? Any advice or feedback would be appreciated.

In this contemporary society, the crime rate is inclining with a great pace. However, this rate is always found to be higher in urban areas as compared to that of rural ones. This essay will discuss the reasons why is it so and put forward solution to it.

The major reason behind the rise in offence rate in cities is the inability among people in order to earn their necessities as it is hard for them to survive in towns and make their both ends meet because of its expensiveness. And to do so, they require earning a lot of money which is possible only through unfair means. However, it is not the same in case of rural people as they are able to cope up even with the worse living conditions and live a sustainable life by spending a little money on everything they need. For instance, it can be clearly seen from news published in the newspaper that criminals generally commit crime in multipolitan cities to earn their living while the same rate is gradually low in villagers. That is why; offence rate is more in cities whereas less in countryside.

However, tackling this issue involves proper steps that government needs to take. For example, the prices need to be fixed for household items, whether for cities or villages. In addition, like villagers, the food items should be distributed to the city-accommodates as well. Thus, government authorities need to take a strict action in order to reduce the crime.

In conclusion, this essay argued the reason why the crime rate is more in cities and towns than their outskirts. In my opinion, until efforts are made this problem will escalate.