We can see more disasters and violence shown on TV. What are its causes and what effects will they exert on the individual and the society?

Television is one of the best sources of recreation with various channels of different genres. Nowadays, most of the TV channels telecast the crime-related and violent programs. This essay will discuss the reasons why it is happening and enlighten its effects on folks of the society.

There are two major causes as to why the media coverage of criminal and violent shows is inclining with a great pace. The first reason is the TRP linked with a particular channel and in order to reach at its peak level, these agencies do whatever they can; without hesitating about its consequences for the world. For instance, most of the television shows with high voltage drama and mind as well as crime games are generally found to be more popular than those showing non-violent shows. Second reason linked to the first is that such shows are based upon reality and are telecasted in order to spread awareness among people. For instance, a channel named Sony TV telecasts a show called Crime Patrol throughout the day and its content is based upon the criminal activities that are undergoing in the world. Thus, these are the reason why media considers crime and violent activities to be more prevalent.

However, there are certain harmful effects that can influence the people, especially young ones, to get indulged in offensive activities. As mentioned in the above paragraph, the shows with crime content can be held be responsible for destroying the mindset of individuals by shifting it from peace-loving to violent one. And as a result, the rate of crime will increase considerably. Moreover, it can create a fear in children's mind which can be long lasting; pushing them towards the trauma. Thus, these shows can exert effects on minds of people in various harmful ways.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the reasons behind prevalence of violent content and its effects on the people. In my opinion, the TV channels should keep in mind the negative impact of their shows rather than its TRP alone.