Some universities offer online courses for students. Do you think this is a positive or negative development for students?

Digital education has brought in a radical change in the traditional ways of teaching. Online courses have already seeped deep into the educational system. Such enhancement comes with its own set of pros and cons. This essay is an attempt to explore few vital points about online courses.

Universities these days provide online courses to students, the vital intention behind this is to encourage students to prevail education balancing other commitments like work or family. But this definitely does not enforces student from not attend the classroom courses. Online courses not necessary can be an affiliated degree course, but it can be an add-on course which can improve your intellectual in a certain field. Firstly it gives a medium to the students to pursue courses which they are inclined to. To quote an instance, an engineering student can apply for software testing online course along with regular engineering classes to build his skill sets in the testing domain. Also, an commerce student can apply for online computer programming classes to cope up with his/her interest. Secondly, Online courses also offer an excellent platform for students who restrain from attending regular classes because of some physical or medical issues. Such initiatives from universities have opened the door for explorations and innovations to the students.

Few have concerns over the online courses stating that vigilance gets compromised. But, even the native teaching methodology does not ensure that what is preached is absorbed. Certain courses which involve a lot of practical knowledge, for example, Medical courses cannot be replaced by an online forum. That is the limitation which will always prevail. But otherwise, if online courses are followed optimally it would still yield brilliant results.

Thus, an appropriate selection of courses and dedication in attending the same will provide more benefits to the students in their educational journey.