Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities or towns, only old people live in the countryside. What are the problems of this issue? What can be done to solve this problem?

It has become more common for young residents from rural areas to immigrate to large industrialized cities. Thus, only senior citizens are seen to live in the countryside these days. The main problem this causes is fewer resource supply available for people living in rural areas and the most possible solution is the financial support from the government to the countryside.

The principal problem when young people move to major cities or towns is that their homeland will face a shortage of goods supply. This is because these individuals are the main workforce of their areas, and thus, there will be fewer people to sufficiently produce goods when they leave. Furthermore, senior citizens are too old to keep working with productivity to supply themselves. For example, the authority of Ben Tre has stated that this province is facing an extreme lack of rice after the majority of young population moved to Ho Chi Minh City for better job opportunities.

The most viable solution to this problem is the governmental support to help raise the income of people living in the countryside. In other words, states can allocate a portion of national money from cities’ taxpayers to rural areas to financially aid young workforce in rural areas. This will encourage the young to keep staying and working in their homeland. For instance, since the announcement of the government to provide farmers in Binh Duong province with a monthly package of two billion Vietnam Dongs in 2010, the number of emigrants from this province has vastly reduced.

In conclusion, the fact that many young ones choose to leave the countryside and move to cities brings the shortage of goods supply and the best way to address this issue is the financial aid from the government.