In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays with the help of technology, the agriculture field has certainly progressed drastically. However, there are still some countries which face scarcity of the food on a regular basis. This essay will examine the cause and solution to this issue.

For instance, even though the production of food has increased, but it is still out off reach to the people because of increased tax and tariffs on export and import of the food. Hence the prices of food items like grains, dairy products, and poultry are very expensive. Secondly, transportation is still an issue, several places are not well connected, further transportation to these places not possible due to bad roads, and poor weather conditions. In addition, in developed countries the food wastage is huge. People waste food on a regular basis because their country is rich so they can afford the majority of food while underdeveloped countries are yet struggling to feed their people.

To overcome this issue, governments of the countries can take some steps, for example, food should be exempted from the tax and tariffs, so people can easily afford it. Additionally, as the population of the world is increasing tremendously, the production of genetically modified crops which are high yielding and resilient should be encouraged. Furthermore, governments should invest money to develop proper channels for export and import of food items. In addition to this, people in developed countries should be mindful of food wastage, instead of dumping groceries into the bin, they should donate food or money to the people in need.

In conclusion, world hunger has been an issue for a long time. With the help of leading countries and individuals, the issue can be resolved to some extent.