Sugar is not good for health. Some people think that government is responsible for limiting the consumption of sugar. While others think that it is an individual who should be responsible for how much sugar he should eat. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There are split opinions regarding the usage of sugar in the country. A section of society believes that government should be responsible to minimize the sugar consumption in the country, whereas another group of thinkers opine that it is individual responsibility to check on sugar utility. Before commenting on my decisions, I would discuss both the aspects in the ensuing paragraphs.

Examining the former opinion, the foremost argument that proponents put forward is easy availability of the sugar in the market. People are persuaded to buy it because of its taste, which is pleasing to people of all the ages. Therefore, government should take some actions that can reduce the availability of sugars in the market. For example, government can impose tax on buying and selling of sugary food. If the item is costly then automatically its consumption would be in control.

Moreover, the government can run the awareness programs so that people understand the detrimental effects of sugars on the body. In this way people would understand the importance of eating healthy food instead of consuming excessive sugars. Thus, government can play important role in preventing people from consuming sugars.

However, the critics argue that it is individual who can keep control on consumption of sugar. He knows how much sugar should he consume on daily basis and he acts accordingly. So self-control is the only way to keep the consumption of sugars in control.

To recapitulate and give my opinion, I pen down saying that government should be responsible to authorize on the consumption of sugars in the country by heavy taxation and running awareness programs.