Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

write not less than 250 words

Laziness, work-shy and a whole lot of other unsocial traits are a few of the many problems suffered by TV addicts. Advancement in technology has taken a toll on majority of the population, especially the youth, who now use a better part of their day/time devouring entertainments in the form of music, videos and so on. In my opinion, I totally agree that television addiction is a menace and should be treated as such.

People addicted to television programmes, lead a sedentary life style, majorty because they are forced to spend hours, sitting behind the screen. This in turn impact on their health, sense of engaging in leisure and cognitive activities. It is no news that, long hours of inactivity, can cause health problem such as obesity. Also is the fact that people who are TV addicts barely have enough time to lead a healthy life, they consume Junks simply because of time. A recent study in UK concluded that seventy percent of obese people in Manchester spend many hours watching different TV programs, consequently depending on fast food.

Isolation is another problem, nowadays, youths are fast becoming less interactive and less connected with the society, whilst retaining a high level of fancy for their favourite movies star(s), or cartoon character who seems to be their virtual friend and also the community in which they interact, this can be really damaging. Studies have shown that those addicted to TV programs at young age have difficulty finding a partner.

In conclusion, People occupy themselves watching music, videos and video games. This can only lead to their detriment, as they may soon enough become indolent and hence deterred from socialising. In my opinion, I strongly agree that media is causing a lot of problems to it addicts and at the same fragmenting our society