These days, children tend to spend a great deal of time playing computer games. Some believe this is a beneficial trend while others think it is detrimental.

Nowadays, many children spend a considerable amount of their time by playing computer games. While most of the people, especially parents, think that this is a waste of valuable time and this time should be utilised for learning academic lessons or taking part in outdoor activities, very few think playing computer games is helpful for children’s cognitive development. I firmly believe that children should play computer games particularly brain games and strategy games but a balance should be maintained so that it does not become an addiction.

In the highly developed technological modern world, it is important for children to play computer games. Firstly, by doing this they can learn how to use computers and become familiar with new technology. Moreover, children communicate to each other at school during the break and often discuss different strategies of some particular computer game. Not only they develop their skills and knowledge such as 3D vision, imagination, and fantasy by playing those, but also computer game is the new modern way of leisure activity for young people, which help them develop thinking patterns, have friends online and build an online world. Many computer games are great learning resources and therefore parents and teacher should supervise what type of games a child play and how much time they spend on that.

On the other hand, spending too much time on computer games might be dangerous for children. For example, some children may not do their homework because they become addicted to computer games and play those most of the time. Also, children have less face-to-face communication with their friends and families as they are busy with games. Furthermore, some of youngest might even become aggressive as computer games expose them to violence and fighting. Therefore, the assistance from adults is needed to help children to keep a balance between computer games and other compulsory deals. Spending too much time can be detrimental to the children’s health, especially for their eyes.

To conclude, a balance is required to ensure children are not playing computer games too much and spending a lot of time in front of computers may lead to disadvantages in other arrears of life such as social communications. However, playing computer games for learning and exploring new ideas can be a very effective way to enhance knowledge and imagination for children.