The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy.

The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays many people believe that benefits of nuclear power far outweight disadvantages however I think they are omiding negative aspects of it. In case of an accident occurance at one of the facilities that uses nuclear power the area effected will be larger than many people thought.

There is a thought saying that nuclear weapons are maintaining World peace. This thought is a heritage for our society from cold war era. During cold war times people were thinking that having nuclear weapons protects you nuclear attacks of other countries. However people were not thinking that a nuclear strike would require a nuclear response so this situation would end in a nuclear. In my opinion the only way of maintaining World peace is by demolishing nuclear weapons.

Furthermore some people even argue that nuclear power provides clean and cheap energy when compared with convantional energy sources like petrol and coal. However people who are thinking like that does not compare nuclear energy with other clean power sources including solar power and wind power. In near future efficency of renewable power will be increased as scientists develop more efficent and reliable solar cells and wind turbines so that nuclear power will be more costly than renewable energy sources.

As a conclusion I should say that I disagree with both of the ideas mentioned above. I argue that we can not have a clean and bright future with nuclear energy. We should reduce the number of nuclear weapons all over the World and scientists also speed up their researches for more efficent and reliable energy sources.