: Today it has become easier to prepare the food. How far has this changed our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Due to the advances in technology, preparing food has become much easier. This trend has admittedly affected people’s lives. In this essay aims to enlist both merits and demerits of this development in connection with our lives.

On the one hand, there are a plethora of points regarding the advantages of this trend. First and perhaps the most lucrative point is that preparing food is less time-consuming these days. To elaborate, with the utilization of new kitchen appliance such as microwave oven, a variety of cuisines can be cooked in a short time. For instance, cooking potato in mentioned machine takes only 5 minutes, whereas, it needs more time to do the same by using antiquated methods. Moreover, using modern methods is more convenient. To illustrate, in the past, one would need a multitude set of skills such as hunting, wood chopping for making fire and etc. in order to cook, but these days these abilities are not necessary.

On the other hand, easier food preparation has negatively affected us as well. Firstly, public’s health has deteriorated owing to the usage of half prepared ingredients. To demonstrate, take canned potatoes as an example. While it is easier to use as an ingredient, due to added preservatives they will deter people’s health. A study shows that people who use canned ingredients consume poisonous chemicals such as Sodium Carbonate that has irreversible consequences for the health. Secondly, new easier cooking methods decrease food quality. It is an indisputable fact that food that is cooked in modern appliances such as microwave oven has inferior taste and texture.

To recapitulate, it is universally acknowledged that preparing food is easier these days; which has positive effects in our daily lives such as more convenience and less time consumption. However, there are negative consequences such as health deterioration and inferior food quality.