Nowadays people are influenced by fashion, in particular when choosing their clothes and hairstyle. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

The fashion industry has an ample effect on societies these days. Some people, therefore, opt for wearing fashion clothes or hairstyles. This essay aims to show that this trend is indeed detrimental due to the fact that following it is both expensive and impractical.

One reason acknowledges following fashion is a negative development can be identified as its high costs. Fashion clothes and hairstyles cost a lot, forcing people to allocate a colossal amount of their income to pay for these extravagances, which in turn may cause financial troubles for them. A recent survey in London, for instance, has shown that, annually, some people spend 5 thousand Sterling Pounds on fashion designed products, which is about two month’s national median wage. This highlights the high expenses that following fashion demands.

Another line of thought on the fashion’s influence on people suggests its impracticality. Waring fashion clothes or hair-models is incompatible with daily life and thereby performing day-to-day routines will be harder for people who wear these products or dress their hair this way. I myself, for example, once had bought a bag designed by a famous brand, however, due to its size and the incontinence thereof, was not able to use it every day. Moreover, statistics show that more than 82 percent of fashion designed merchandise bought by housewives in California state, in the US, are used only once. This evidence demonstrates that people find using fashion products inconvenient to the degree that they stop using them after one try.

To summarize, this essay has clearly shown the influence of fashion on the masses has been a negative development because of its high costs and impracticality.