Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

At present, the standard of living in urban areas is deteriorating. Before putting forward any solution, it is imperative to discuss the root cause behind this situation.

There are various reasons behind this predicament. Firstly, increased number of vehicles in cities cause lots of pollution. As a result, people living in urban cities suffer from respiratory problems. Secondly, people have to pay exorbitant cost of living. This to say that people living cities have to pay high cost for even basic things, such as transport, house rent and food. As a result, they are not able to save money, and some people even face financial crisis. For instance, as per the report by local newspaper, 48% of the city dwellers opt for loans, as they are not able to cope of their family expenses with just salary.

There are many solutions to fight again this difficult situation. Firstly, the government should implement "Odd and Even" scheme to reduce the number of vehicles on the road, which would result in lesser pollution. Secondly, government should also provide affordable homes, so that people with less salary can but their own home rather than staying on rent for whole life. Thirdly, the scheme for minimum should be implemented by the government, so that people can get a baseline, which would be sufficient to live in large cities. For instance, government of Canada has ranked its major city on expense rating, and set a minute wage for each city based on the ranking.

To conclude, it is undeniable status of life is getting worse in major cities due to high cost of living and pollution. However, I believe this could be curb, if government provide affordable home, along with minimum wage policy and implement strict guidelines to reduce vehicle on the road.