Today there are a lot of websites providing news on the internet. Some people believe that these websites will totally replace traditional newspapers and magazines.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that the internet has revolutionized the world and numerous web pages provide news on the internet. Owing to this, some people opine that traditional newspapers and magazines will be completely replaced by such websites. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement not only because of their easy accessibility but also due to the instant notification feature they provide.

The primary reason why I believe that newspapers and magazines will be completely replaced by the internet is because of its convenience. In other words, in this era of technological advancements, people are connected to the internet world almost every time with the help of electronic gadgets such as mobile phones and laptops. Therefore, they can read news and articles on the websites at their own convenient time without physically carrying newspapers and magazines to read. Take the example of the renowned newspaper “The Hindu”, which updates news on the web instantly and it has about 1 million subscribers, who read news on their website online. Hence, the above example speaks volumes that the internet would probably replace newspapers in the time to come.

Another reason to believe is the advantage of instant news notifications. Since technology and the internet gives us the facility of providing instant news with the help of notifications to the subscribed users, it has become possible that people are notified instantly about the current affairs, which has an edge over the paper newspaper, where one get news the next day. For example, the newspapers in every country enlist news on the next day of the occurrence of incident whereas websites updates news on a second basis.

However, some people are in the favour that traditional newspapers and magazines can never be replaced by website news because the older generation finds it difficult to operate electronic devices and reading from paper has its own comfort to them. Hence, the ritual of reading news from traditional newspaper will continue to exist.

To conclude, I wholeheartedly agree that websites on the internet would completely replace the tradition of reading physical newspapers and magazines because of their ease in readiness and the feature of instant updates.