TOPIC: More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is a fact that the count of extinct species has increased rapidly in the past few years. There are several reasons for such a situation and also a few solutions to tackle it. Both aspects are explained in the ensuing paragraphs.

Discussing the causes, the most common one is ungoverned trading and poaching activities. This is because the fur and skin of various animals are used in cosmetics and medicines. Although the government has put a ban on such trade, it is still carried out with the help of few corrupt forest officers. In 2014, when an infamous animal smuggler was investigated, it was found that 80 percent of officials were involved in killing and exporting animal parts. The other cause is the change in their surroundings and habitats due to global warming. Because of unchecked pollution and deforestation, there has been a drastic change in the natural habitats of wildlife. Therefore, there has been a huge rise in endangered and extinct species.

The mentioned causes can have solutions too. The foremost solution is to regulate laws strictly against hunters and poachers. By this, I mean that punishment should be made tougher and hefty fines should also be introduced. Not only the hunters but also the involved officials should be dealt with strictness. In addition to this, awareness campaigns should be started to help people know that if they want to protect their ecosystem, they need to be extra careful in their contribution to global warming. They should also be shown the dire consequences of them being indifferent to the fauna. Furthermore, the government should introduce more bio-reserves, wildlife sanctuaries, national parks which will stimulate the safe living environments for animals. It has been observed in a survey conducted by PETA last year that after the introduction of wildlife sanctuaries in Gujarat, five endangered species have been brought back to their normal population.

Thus, to conclude the topic, It can be finally commented that the extinction of wildlife is directly linked with the illegal smuggling, uncontrolled hunting and global warming. In order to control the detrimental effects, strict laws should be enforced on poaching and as well as people should be educated to be more vigilant towards their actions. Along with that, the focus should also be shifted on national parks and wildlife sanctuaries.