Topic: Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Thanks to the development of modern technology, some college students are offered to have online courses instead of traditional studying in university. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages of this changing.

On the one hand, attend an online course as an alternative to classes delivered on campus has some benefits. The most important benefit is that the cost of studying can be decreased. Students do not have to pay for renting and travelling, and the government can save money on maintaining and upgrading the university’s system as well. Moreover, by studying online, students are able to keep living with their family so they do not suffer from missing home or being alone. Therefore, they can more concentrate on studying and achieve good results. In addition to, this studying method help students save time going to their universities. For example, instead of waking up early in the morning and spend time going to university, students just have to turn on their computer and use the time for preparing the lesson.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of studying online. Firstly, it is hard for students living in some remote areas where do not have internet connection. Secondly, because of still living at home, youths cannot gain experience of managing their life independently. According to a survey, students studying and living out of their home are more mature and better life management than the ones live with family. Finally, studying without face to face meeting is difficult for students to make friends and have good relationship, so it limits them develop some soft skills like communication skills, teamwork…

In conclusion, online courses for college students has both positive and negative effects. Therefore, universities have to seriously consider about it before offer to its students.