Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries,

but its disadvantages should not be overlooked.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though excursion industry is emerging as an imperative source of earning for tourism favoring countries, its detrimental effects cannot be overshadowed. I agree with the given statement that proliferation in tourism sector has eradicated the cultural identity and reckless behavior of visitors has degraded the environment.

Since affordable tourism has allowed tourists to travel more frequently, burgeoning tourism is responsible for cultural erosion. Seemingly, when excursionists from affluent countries visit underprivileged countries, the citizenry of host nations considered them elite and fanatically follow them. The denizens of less developed countries imbibe the lifestyle, eating habit and language of tourists and gradually their own cultural start disappearing. Also it is biased to overlook the fact documented by American Tourism Council

that due to extreme tourism in Thailand, the western culture has become dominant and it has swallowed the Thai traditions.

To continue, there is correlation between careless behaviour of tourists and degradation of atmosphere. Travellers are generally less aware about local environment conservation policies and their thoughtless steps impose harmful effects on environment. To exemplify, as per the report published by Times Magazine that floating plastic water bottles over Canadian seas which has pathetically polluted the marine life is the result of less awareness among tourist about eco-tourism. Therefore, proliferation in tourism leads to deterioration of environment which push some countries towards environment destruction.

In conclusion, although surging tourism is generating colossal amount of revenue for tourism friendly economy, tourism is also accountable for cultural erosion and exploitation of environment.