Tourism has caused environmental problems in many parts of the world. What sort of problems has been caused and what can be done about them?

06/24/2018 - 07:12

The tourism industry has been booming swiftly over the past decades. Even though tourism provides a great deal of revenue for many countries, it brings umpteen environmental hazards mainly air pollution and disposal of solid wastes. This situation can be managed by awareness to public and implementing laws.

The key problem associated with tourist activity is pollution of air. This is to say, transportation has become an inextricable factor in this industry, and people start to explore new places more and more. This invites a large scale burning of fossil fuels and therefore, lethal gases released into the atmosphere. As a consequence, atmospheric temperature begins to rise and make the planet not suitable for life in. For instance, a recent study in India shows that the content of CO is alarmingly high in major tourist places. Accumulation of non-biodegradable materials is another dire consequence of global tourism in which trippers throw solid residues at places they visit. It disturbs the equilibrium of ecology either. Coral bleaching in the Pacific region is a perfect example for this pressing issue.

A viable solution to tackle this menace is public education on mass media. This must include the reasons for environmental distress and aftermaths of such imprudent actions. This strategy creates an impression among the citizens about the necessities of exercising safe and efficient methods that reduce the implications on the planet. As an illustration, education programmes through short films made a significant impact on curbing the use of plastic items in Malaysia. Furthermore, an outright ban on private vehicles in ecologically fragile areas would increase the dependence of public transportation systems and eventually enhance the quality of air.

On the whole, environmental damage is an inevitable byproduct of tourism; however, it can be deterred by educating the public and stringent actions against the operations of private automobiles.