Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subjects. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that universities should accept equal proportions of each gender in all courses. In my opinion, I disagree with this point of view. Men and women should have the same educational opportunities.

There are several reasons why universities should not choose students for every subject base on equal numbers of each gender. It would be unfair for students who have a good qualifications. If a university rejected a female students with higher grade to balance the proportions of each gender, this student would not have any motivations to achieve best results. Thus, universities should continue to select the best candidates for each course according their qualifications. In this way, both men and women know that they would have the same opportunities for university admission.

Apart from the unfair concerns expressed above, I believe that it would be simply unrealistic. If universities decided to fill course with equal numbers in female and male students, it would need enough applicants of each gender. In reality, many subjects are more popular with one gender than the other. For example, computer science courses tend to attract more male applicants. So it is difficult to fill these course with fifty percent of female students.

In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit and it would be impractical and unfair to change the selection procedure based on gender