we are witnessing traffic jams across all the cities in the world. some people say that increasing prices of petrol will help in reducing traffic jams and pollutiondo you agree and disagree?

Traffic congestion is gaining ground among the urban areas: which is faced by the people globally. One possible solution is given by individuals, raising the tariff on petrol will result in overcoming the traffic problem. At the global scale, not only affluent nations but also financially weaker societies are, nowadays emphasising on finding out the possible effects with certain solutions. Therefore, the pros and cons are the facets of the same coin; the benefit of every solution generates certain side effects.

Imposing the tax would discourage car owner from using their cars as it would become very expensive to drive. This would mean that they would begin to make use of public transport which leads to reduce traffic problem and pollution as well. Most of the people for long distance, for instance, will use public vehicles as it would be cheaper than driving own car. Owing to, considerable usage of public transport will lead to improved facilities. It is often seen the case that public transport in cities is poor. For example, old buses and trains that would rather not use, high taxes would generate enough money to make the necessary changes. In the UK, trams-train has been introduced for the people to get around in every nook of the corner of the UK, at a very reasonable price. Hence, the scheme was inclined to lessen the traffic problem and achieved to do so.

Nevertheless, there are certain drawbacks to such a solution. This would be a heavy onus on the car drivers. At present, taxes are already high for a lot of people, and so further taxes would only mean less money at the end of the month for most people, who may have no choice but to drive every day. In addition, this type of tax would likely be set at a fixed amount and only hit those with less money harder, whilst the rich could likely to afford it, continue the use of private vehicles for their own use. Therefore, it is not a powerful approach to curb the traffic problem.

To conclude, this solution is worth considering improving the current situation, but there are advantages and disadvantages of introducing such a policy.