Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that rich countries should take more refugees and provide them with food and shelter. This essay agrees with this view because wealthy countries have enough resources to do this and the refugees are fleeing from countries that are affected by war and famine.

The main reason developed countries should take more displaced people is that they have the financial ability to do so. Countries like the UK, Canada and Japan have huge budgets that they collect in the form of tax from individuals and companies operating in their territory. It would only take a fraction of their wealth to accommodate and feed millions of poorer people. For instance, it is estimated that GDP of the UK is over 20 trillion dollars, and all Syrian refugees could be resettled for less than a billion dollar.

Wealthy nations also have a moral obligation because refugees are trying to enter their land because their homes have been destroyed by war. No one wants to leave their homeland with their families unless it is essential to do so and if Western countries refuse to take them in, they will certainly be in danger of losing their lives. For example, people from Syria have no food and are often caught in the middle of full scale battles and that is the main reason why nearly 5 million of them have escaped.

In conclusion, affluent states should step in to help the refugees because they have the ability to afford and it will save millions of lives.