Wealthy nations should help poorer countries on humanitarian relief during disasters. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the rich countries should help developing and under-developed countries during crisis. This essay agrees with this statement because wealthy nations have a moral obligation towards humanity and they are well advanced in technologies, emergency plans, and rescue operations.

Firstly, developed nations have a moral obligation to help the nations that are in poverty during disasters. This is because humans should not see other humans suffer, especially when they are aware that their support could have a great impact. Moreover, humans have an innate behaviour to help each other during these situations. For example, it was reported in the Times of India that when there was a heavy storm in Chennai, India, which flooded the whole city, many developed countries offered monetary help, as well as, in rescue operations and it helped the state to recover very quickly.

Secondly, Wealthy countries own sophisticated technologies and effective plans to handle any disasters. The main reason why poorer countries could not help themselves is because neither do they have enough money to handle disaster needs nor advanced systems to handle recovery in these situations. For example, when a group of Thai students got trapped in cave because of a heavy rainfall, many countries such as the USA and the UK, offered their advanced technologies, which played a crucial role in the rescue operation.

In conclusion, wealthy countries have helped the poorer one’s in the past and would continue to do so because they have a moral obligations to do, as well as, they are well advanced in terms of technologies and emergency procedures, rescue operations etc., which would of great help when a under-developed country is suffering.