What are the advantages and disadvantages of advertising?

Nowadays, advertising is getting more and more popular to our daily life. There's no doubt that it has some advantages in bringing the products close to customers and boosting sales for the company. However, advertising sometimes makes people buy things they don't need. The following essay will explain these points in more detail.

To begin with, on one hand, advertising brings products close to the customer. Obviously, people watch TV everyday and there are so many advertisings. The repeated advertising remarks company's brand in customer's minds and raise their awareness of company's product. In some cases, advertising also helps customer know more about product's features such as its color, its usage, its virtue. Therefore, they will make a better decision in purchasing.

Furthermore, advertising boosts sales for the company and creates more profit. If customer know one product better than others, they intend to buy this one. Clearly, whenever having demand for one type of product, people usually think about the one they know much first. That's reason why the company will have a chance to sale more products and earn money. For example, everyday I see the advertising of Unilever company about their washing powder which is named OMO. Thus, when I want to buy a powder to wash my clothes, I will definitely buy OMO because I'm accustomed to it.

On the other hand, sometimes advertising makes people buy things they don't really need by exaggerating the attributes of products. The marketers usually claim their product as "the best" on the market and it seems essential for customer to buy and use in their daily life. Unfortunately, many purchases that people make are unnecessary. Take my dad as an example, because of the amazing video which advertises for the wine, he decides to buy one but he even doesn't use it because he cannot drink alcohol. In conclusion, according to all the points given above, I believe that advertising has its own advantages and disadvantages. It helps customer know more about the product and make profit for company, but it also makes people buy things they don't really need in some cases