What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television?

Nowadays, the number of children spending time in front of television is growing dramatically. Some sociologists claim that this trend has many negative effects, while some teachers state that it is beneficial for children. In this essay, I will consider both sides and try to draw some conclusion.

Let's start by looking at the benefits of children watching television. One of its main advantages is that they can have another source of knowledge about the world. In addition to school, children can get familiar with things, such as wildlife, engineering and fashion, while they are watching documentaries and various shows on TV. Another positive aspect of watching television is that it can be relaxing for pupils. School children often have problems with stress due to studying, but, for example, watching both cartoons and adventure films usually enables them to unwind and recharge their batteries quickly. After the analysis of these benefits, it is undoubtedly that children should be allowed to watch television.

Turning to the other side of the argument, some sociologists argue that watching television has plenty of drawbacks. First of all, it can cause eye impairment. In many cases, over-exposure to TV leads to problems with eyesight amongst children because they rarely move as well as blink their eyes for hours while watching television. Secondly, it can result in poor academic performance. Pupils, who are used to watching TV, have a tendency to ignore homework and play truant from school, since they find it more interesting than going to school. After the consideration of the disadvantages, it goes without saying that television is often disadvantageous for children.

All things considered, even though that some sociologists make a statement that watching television is detrimental for growing generation, personally, I believe that the above-mentioned advantages outweigh the drawbacks.