14 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is hard to deny the pleasant enjoyment for tourists to experience foreign cultures traveling abroad, which leads impressionable people to generate the view that international travel brings more benefits than domestic travel. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as environments, new perspectives, and culture are concerned, I firmly hold that tourists can gain more benefits from traveling in their own country.

First and foremost, domestic travel is environmentally friendly, as these tourists reduce their carbon footprint. Meanwhile, Dependent on how large their country is and how far they are planning on traveling, they can completely alleviate the need to travel by plane. Their travels will have much less of an impact on the environment if they travel by train to reach your destination. Not to mention that they will also make more of the actual journey, being able to admire the scenery along the railways, seeing the cities, hills, and farms, rather than clouds, out of the plane's window.

Furthermore, the fact that people are easy to become complacent and perhaps even bored of the place where they live indicates, but if they spend time traveling in their own country, they will discover new perspectives for their surroundings indicates that domestic travel is more meaningful to people. In my case, I live in the southeast of China and frequently take trips to other regions of China to rediscover the beautiful landscapes and exciting cities surrounding me. My unforgettable domestic travel experiences remind me why so many people from all over the world visit China. Had it not been for traveling around China, I would never get the chance to see my country with fresh eyes.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that only when traveling to foreign countries tourists can have the most in-depth cultural experience. Ironically, although one of the main attractions of traveling is discovering and understanding other cultures, people sometimes need to look a little closer to home, and many people do not know much about their country's heritage and history. Knowing their culture helps people construct their identity and build a sense of pride around being part of their country - it is educational for people to plan a few trips to cultural centers, historical landmarks, or inspiring museums not far from home to gain more knowledge about their own country's heritage. Therefore, people should give priority to domestic travel rather than international travel.

In a nutshell, I maintain that people who choose domestic travel can gain more benefits than international travel. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.