It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

It is hard to deny that compared to understanding theories and concepts, facts are more closely linked with social life, which leads impressionable people to generate the idea that students should pay more attention to learning facts. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as knowledge frameworks, thinking ability, and further study are concerned, I firmly hold that understanding theories and concepts is more important for students than learning facts.

First and foremost, understanding theories and concepts are important to students, as theories and concepts help students build up their knowledge frameworks. Meanwhile, reasonable frameworks of knowledge offering foundation and methods in facts learning will be critical to students' future research. Not to mention that if students continue studying a subject without a corresponding knowledge network at the very beginning, it will be hard for students to systematically study and figure out the facts due to their lack of fundamental theories and concepts to understand these facts.

Furthermore, the fact that students can improve their thinking capability in understanding theories and concepts indicates their importance. Take the case of photosynthesis, which is a critical knowledge point in students' Biology class. In the progress of photosynthesis, the chemical components, the elements of photosynthesis, interact with each other at different stages, which might be hard to learn at first. Once students figure out the relationships of these elements, they get the hang of it. Had it not been for understanding the theories and concepts behind photosynthesis progress, students will be confused about complicated relationships between them and lose the chance to train their thinking.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that learning facts is the most efficient way to improve students' practical skills while putting energy and time into understanding theories and concepts is meaningless. Ironically, theories and concepts bring significant long-term benefits to students' further study and sometimes lead them to discover facts. That is the case with the periodic table of the early versions. According to the periodic table concepts, there were some gaps left between certain types of elements, should belong to the undiscovered elements. As expected, a scientist in later decades found those elements and filled them into the gaps one by one. Therefore, this example should perfectly illustrate why concepts are more important than facts.

In a nutshell, I maintain that learning theories and concepts should have a higher priority for students. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.