In 20 years there will be less pollution in the air than there is today.

Pollution control has been the hot topic of 21st century. There have been lots of money spent every year to curb the excessive amount of pollution growth that has taken place after the industrial revolution. Personally, I believe that there would still be more concentration of the pollution in the environment after 20 years than today. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, we know that population growth is a major obstacle in reducing pollution. In the next 20 years, it is projected that the global population will exceed 9 billion. Feeding and nurturing this large population of humans is a task that is unfathomable by even the cutting-edge researchers of resources management. Moreover, the living standards of people are uplifted at a tremendous rate in developing countries. As the living standards improve, the pollution per capita would increase. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. In my childhood, I lived in a society where most people didn't have a car. But, in a span of two decades, the current situation is that most of them have a car, and some people have more than one car. If all people had vehicles of their own, then the pollution would definitely increase.

Furthermore, the renewable resource industry is not supported well enough by the governments. They are facing sheer competition from non-renewable companies. The widespread opposition of solar and wind industries by the coal and oil companies reflects the issue precisely. For instance, whenever the government provides tax breaks to the natural energy companies, they get a strong rebuttal from the coal industry. One of the reasons is the jobs of people involved in coal companies would be risked because of a new industry growing out of nowhere. For example, most of the electric vehicles that were in use around me had been again replaced by engine vehicles. However, Tesla is one of the companies which is trying its best to make electric vehicles ubiquitous.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that pollution will not decrease in a span of two decades from now. It is because of the growing population and the competition faced by polluting industries.