#65 Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Preservation of old and historic buildings is of paramount importance as they not only signify the history of the region and country but they also help to promote tourism. Some erudite might believe that replacing historic buildings in the city with modern buildings is necessary to make the city look beautiful but they fail to overlook the beauty of these historic buildings. I contend that there are number of reasons why historic buildings should be preserved. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my point.

Historic buildings can be ancient monuments, archaic temples or just an old house which may have some significance. These historic buildings are mostly different from the modern buildings in terms of strength, color and shapes which make them valuable. In some cases, they might be an excellent example of works of artists and architects. For example, the Taj Mahal built during the reign of Shah Jahan is not only a marvelous structure but it also has a great historical significance to why it was built. It was built in the memory of Shah Jahan's beloved wife Mumtaj Mahal. Therefore, the buildings having major or minor historical significance should not be decimated for modern buildings.

Some people believe that for the development of the city older buildings need to be replaced with modern buildings. However, these buildings can just be renovated to new ones without destroying them and help preserve the culture and art of these buildings. These buildings contain some important artistic works which help us to study about ancient civilizations.

Decimation of large amount of historical buildings in an area can cause imbalance among the local population and might lead to several protests. For example, when the local government in holy city of Varanasi(India) decided to destroy large no. of old buildings and archaic temples for developing a road corridor project, it caused a lot distrust among people leading to massive protests. Many people were forced to leave their old houses and ancestral belongings.

In conclusion, it would be appropriate to state that destruction of buildings of historical significance would lead to destruction of culture, arts and could cause distrust and unrest among the population of cities. Thus, suitable actions need to be taken to conserve historical buildings.